Gleanings: A Heart Enlarged

I found the following comment from Mother Teresa to be very helpful and inspiring…

Prayer makes the heart large enough until it can contain God’s gift of Himself. Ask and seek, and your heart will grow big enough to receive Him and keep Him as your own.

I like the idea that prayer enlarges the heart.  If you had the choice between going out into the rain to catch water with a thimble, or with a barrel, which would you choose?  If we have the choice between going to God with a small heart or a large one, which should we choose?

About jstevenharper

Retired seminary professor, who taught for 32 years in the disciplines of Spiritual Formation and Wesley Studies. Author and co-author of 31 books.
This entry was posted in Gleanings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gleanings: A Heart Enlarged

  1. Cindy Schutz says:

    “For me, prayer means launching out of the heart toward God, a cry of grateful love from the crest of joy or the trough of despair; it is a vast, supernatural force that opens out my heart, and binds me close to Jesus – Saint Therese of Lisieux ; “Prayer is in all things, in all gestures.” Mother Teresa (from Mother Teresa No Greater Love p.16 & p.2)
    I sent these quotes to a friend battling cancer. I read this post after that and all I could do was say Thank you…

Comments are closed.