The Teaching Life: Introduction

I am heading into the “home stretch” of my professional life as a teacher.  I have been a professor for 32 years, and I was an evangelist and pastor 17 years before that.  I have just retired from appointed ministry as a United Methodist clergyperson, and I will retire from Asbury Seminary as a full-time professor at the end of this-coming December.

As I walk across the bridge of another transition, I am reflecting upon the vocation God has given me for so long, and once in a while I will share some insights that are emerging from pondering this dimensions of my life and ministry.

Not all of you are teachers, but I hope some of the concepts I’ll note are transferable to you.  And it may be that you know people who are teacher, and you’ll feel led to share these meditations with them.  In either case, I hope you’ll be blessed by this category of Oboedire postings.

About jstevenharper

Retired seminary professor, who taught for 32 years in the disciplines of Spiritual Formation and Wesley Studies. Author and co-author of 31 books. Also a retired Elder in The Florida Annual Conference of The United Methodist Church
This entry was posted in The Teaching Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Teaching Life: Introduction

  1. Jodie Howell says:

    I’m a little confused . . . you’re retiring from teaching too? But, I thought I’d read an announcement that you (with Reg Johnson and Steve Martyn) were teaching in the new Asbury masters degree in spiritual formation?? Disappointed to hear that you may not be involved . . . will you be teaching a last class in the fall?

  2. David C says:

    May God continue to bless you as you cut the ropes, Steve.

Comments are closed.