Site Update: Thank You

Some of the people I know who use Face Book are becoming disillusioned with it, due to the negative and argumentative responses that get posted.  One of my good friends in ministry (who reaches over a million people a month) is considering dropping his Face Book medium altogether.

I just want to write today and thank you for not responding to my posts in ways that are “mean spirited” or problematic.  Most of you simply read the postings without responding, and that is just fine.  Those of you who do respond are doing so in ways that are edifying.

That’s exactly why I created Oboedire in the first place—to provide edifying postings that speak to our life in Christ.  I know there’s no way to do that all the time without causing someone to disagree, but so far (thank God) you have not turned this daily ministry into a forum to air any of those.

Given the struggles some of my friends are having with such negativity, I simply wanted to write and be sure you know how grateful I am that you are allowing Oboedire to remain a positive influence, even on occasions when we may not see eye to eye with everything I write.  Such is the nature of formative community, and I thank you for preserving the positive atmosphere necessary for Oboedire to be what it’s meant to be.

About jstevenharper

Retired seminary professor, who taught for 32 years in the disciplines of Spiritual Formation and Wesley Studies. Author and co-author of 31 books. Also a retired Elder in The Florida Annual Conference of The United Methodist Church
This entry was posted in Site Updates. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Site Update: Thank You

  1. Jim Bradshaw says:

    Blessings to you! Glad we are related!

  2. Keith says:

    I also do what Cathy does. As well I pass them on to my spouse and friends as lead by the Holy Spirit. I read them daily along with the books you recommend. Thank you. I scream my negative comments at God!

  3. ~Kathy says:

    I’ve never commented before, but I would like you to know that I have really learned a lot from your blog. I have read the books that you recommend when able. I print out the post that mean the most to me and put them in a folder to read again and again. Thank you for your effort. I hope that it is always received in a positive atmosphere.

  4. Fr. Rob Goodridge says:

    I love it all… except for your neck tie… 🙂

  5. Marcie says:

    I find a lot of posts on face book annoying but I think it is an awesome forum to lift up scripture and encourage and be encouraged in the Word by friends

Comments are closed.