Gleanings: Silent Prayer

Prayer is largely just being silent: holding the tension instead of even talking it through, offering the moment instead of fixing it by words and ideas, loving reality as it is instead of understanding it fully. We must not push the river, we must just trust that we are really in the river, and God is the current.

That may be impractical, but the way of faith is not the way of efficiency. So much of life is just a matter of listening and waiting, and enjoying the expansiveness that comes from such willingness to hold. It is like carrying and growing a baby: women wait and trust and hopefully eat good food, and the baby is born.

~ Richard Rohr

About jstevenharper

Retired seminary professor, who taught for 32 years in the disciplines of Spiritual Formation and Wesley Studies. Author and co-author of 31 books.
This entry was posted in Gleanings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gleanings: Silent Prayer

  1. Jim Bradshaw says:

    Certainly, this is true to the extent that prayer includes meditation. However, we must be careful not to excuse ourselves to always be a silent pray-er. Those who are introverted (which I can be at times) would prefer this. The prayer Jesus gave to his disciples is a model of making declarations… which imply verbal expression. So, as much as I am a silent pray-er particularly when it comes to meditation, discerning between soul and spirit, and listening to God, I know I must also discipline myself to make prayerful declarations according to the will of God, not only for my life, but for the Church and His Kingdom. While something happens inside me as I meditate with silent prayer, something also happens outside of me as I make prayerful declarations.

Comments are closed.