First Day: Welcome to the Fall

We have not yet felt the permanent arrival of Fall (or at least what we call “Fall”) in Florida.  It’s still HOT!  But we live by hope.

As we begin a new month in the Oboedire family, I want to simply say thank you for helping this ministry site to grow.  Subscriptions and daily visits have both grown the past month.  We’re had just over 8,000 contacts in September.  I take this as a sign that the daily postings are serving a godly purpose for you.  I surely hope so.

I have two things to bring to your attention, but both are still “embryonic.”  But I believe they are at a point where feedback from you will help my discernment process….

(1) I am considering beginning The School of Attentive Formation, as part of the ministry of Oboedire.  It would essentially be providing resources to individuals and groups in the Oboedire family—resources that you could use at home to further grow your spiritual life.  Before going down this avenue, I need to know if having actual studies in your hands (and the hands of a Sunday School Class or other small group) would be a further benefit of the Oboedire ministry.

(2) I am considering establishing the Order for Attentive Formation.  I have sensed there is a desire among some people for a more-intentional journey of spiritual formation.  I have begun to explore the validity and viability of online orders, and I believe it exists.  I still have more to learn, but I am open to the creation of an Order for those in the Oboedire family who would like that additional feature as part of your formation.

Neither of these elements would begin for about a year.  I need time to develop either, or both—if it seems good to do so.  What I need now is honest feedback on these possibilities.  From the beginning Oboedire has existed to provide beneficial experiences for people, as they seek to grow into greater spiritual maturity and more effective Christian discipleship.  Comments from you about these two possibilities will help me as I continue to think and pray about how to make Oboedire an increasingly valuable resource for Christian formation.

By next summer, we’ll be beginning (God willing) the third year of Oboedire.  Perhaps one or both of these ideas can be included in the ongoing Oboedire ministry.  Let me know what you think.

 

About jstevenharper

Retired seminary professor, who taught for 32 years in the disciplines of Spiritual Formation and Wesley Studies. Author and co-author of 31 books.
This entry was posted in First Day. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to First Day: Welcome to the Fall

  1. Tom Pope says:

    Steve, You know I’m all in! I believe you are right in step with what the Holy Spirit is doing in the Church.

  2. I would welcome the School of attentive formation and the order. I am a member of the Order of St. Luke the Physician and a minister of healing of dyslexia. Keep me in the loop.

  3. Margot says:

    Good Morning Pastor Steve!
    I am interested in both the materials and the formation of community. Upper Room Academy was a great two-year experience — and I still feel “formed.” I also seek connection with colleague-friends around me here (Oregon). Still, an intentional order is welcome, since there are many days and only so much time spent apart. I welcome this opportunity. Thank you for your willingness!
    Blessings,
    Margot

  4. Chuck says:

    I would welcome the possibility of both The School of Attentive Formation and Order for Attentive Formation.

  5. Both of these possibilities made my heart leap. Though there might be an overlap or an intertwining of sonera of the same people, there would be others in each separate. May you have insight as you continue to discern. Thanks for sharing the possibilities. That in itself speaks to me on my journey. Spiritual formation continues to be a place I come back to and I wonder how my ordination journey can connect. As in, is there a place for ordained elders in spiritual formation outside the typical church?

  6. Rev Daph says:

    I would be very interested in the possibility of both these new experiences. I need a better understanding of on online order but sounds as if this resource for formation would fit for me.

  7. Scouse mouse says:

    I would be /am very interested in an order for attentive formation. I currently use the 1am post for morning prayer. More for each “hour ” would be most welcome.

Comments are closed.