In-Sight: Where is the “Stretch”?

While watching football yesterday, I noticed the commentator’s remarks that the players were going through their “stretching” exercises.  I hadn’t thought about that in a while, but I know it’s their way of helping to insure that they are not injured later.  By stretching out their muscles, they acquire an elasticity that will serve them well later in the game.

A little while ago, Jeannie got her first copy of a new journal that’s she decided to subscribe to.  It’s called Images, and its a multi-disciplinary piece that weaves together faith, poetry, art, etc.

As she was reading the first few pages, she commented to me, “It’s so good to have something that stretches you.”  Looks like this journal will be doing that for her.

It made me stop to ask, “Where is the stretch in my spiritual formation?”  It causes me to stop and ask you the same question.

It’s in the stretching that our souls take on an elasticity that will serve us well later on the journey.  It’s in the stretching that we prevent injuries on the field.  It’s in the stretching that we find new sources of inspiration and fresh wisdom to strengthen and guide us.

Where is the stretch in your spiritual formation?

About jstevenharper

Retired seminary professor, who taught for 32 years in the disciplines of Spiritual Formation and Wesley Studies. Author and co-author of 31 books.
This entry was posted in In-Sight. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In-Sight: Where is the “Stretch”?

  1. Tom Pope says:

    Sometimes I’m not sure whether I am being stretched or “drawn and quartered.”

  2. Stephen Whitlock says:

    Spiritual stretching can take many forms. Learning to say “my God” not “thou God.” Even as a christain, finding that “Victory in Jesus” is meant for the other guys. The courage to raise my hand, just once, and being all for God before the rest of myself catches on to what I have done.

Comments are closed.