First Day: A Few More Developments

If you read the January edition of “First Day” (posted on 1/14), you know that things are evolving with Oboedire.  I have a couple of reminders to share today, a new venture, and an update….

(1) The reminder that NewPastors launched this morning at 1:00 a.m.  You do not have to be a clergyperson to access it or (hopefully) benefit from it.  I do hope you’ll begin to check it out…and…tell others about it.  Blogs grow by word-of-mouth.

(2) I have accepted Dr. Paul Chilcote’s invitation to teach in the Doctor of Ministry program at Ashland Theological Seminary in Ashland, OH.  One of the concentrations is called “Wesleyan Practices.”  I will teach the course on Wesleyan Spirituality.  I will teach it this September 23-26.  If a DMin that specifically connects your life and ministry to the Wesleyan tradition is attractive, go to the seminary website for more information under the “Doctor of Ministry” sidebar:  http://seminary.ashland.edu.  It would be great to have you in the class.

(3) I continue to ponder and organize my thoughts in relation to a School of Attentive Formation–a possible online educational component of Oboedire.  Determining the scope and content of an initial course–plus how it might fit into a larger vision of formation–takes time.  I am mentioning it this month only to let you know I have not abandoned the idea.

Well….that’s it for now.  The subscriber family continues to grow, as do the number of daily visits.  I take this to mean that Oboedire is meeting a need, and for that I thank God.  I thank God too for your presence in this ongoing journey.

About jstevenharper

Retired seminary professor, who taught for 32 years in the disciplines of Spiritual Formation and Wesley Studies. Author and co-author of 31 books. Also a retired Elder in The Florida Annual Conference of The United Methodist Church
This entry was posted in First Day. Bookmark the permalink.