Wesley’s Way: Introduction

Welcome to a new weekly posting on Oboedire.  In response to requests by others, I am beginning a look at spiritual formation through the lens of the Wesleyan tradition.

As I have said previously, this is not intended to diminish the ecumenical nature of Oboedire, but it is to begin a post each Wednesday that will enable me to write about the portion of the Christian tradition which has most-significantly formed me.  It is the focal tradition in which I have lived, ministered, written, and worked.

In making the decision to do this, I am (in part) reminding us that there is no spiritual formation apart from the Christian tradition in general and some aspect of that tradition in particular.  So, even as I share insights with you from the Wesleyan tradition, I hope you will explore your own specific tradition for “pearls of great price.”

Also, in beginning this series I am acknowledging what is also true of the Wesleyan tradition (and any other specific tradition as well)—namely, that “Wesley’s way” is itself a river fed by multiple streams.  In fact, we are going to begin this series by highlighting the “feeder streams” that lead us to be able to speak of Wesleyan spirituality in the first place.

I hope you will find this weekly post to be beneficial in its own right.  I hope it will shed light on your spiritual formation.  And I hope it will ignite a desire in you to find further light by examining your own tradition more directly.  And as always, if you know of others whom you think would be interested in this weekly theme, please invite them to join the journey.

About jstevenharper

Retired seminary professor, who taught for 32 years in the disciplines of Spiritual Formation and Wesley Studies. Author and co-author of 31 books.
This entry was posted in Wesley's Way. Bookmark the permalink.