Holy Week 2013: Handed the Bread

Holy Wednesday
John 13:21-32

Have you been handed a piece of bread by Jesus?  I have.  It is not the bread of forgiveness.  It is the bread of betrayal.  Like Judas, I have found myself at the table, knowing full well that my heart is not right with God.

Jesus takes bread and breaks it, but it is not the bread of redemption.  It is the bread of recognition.  The others sitting at the table cannot see into my heart, but Jesus can.  The bread he hands me is a sign to me that he knows.

I cannot look at him as he hands me this bread, but a quick glance exchanged between us tells me there are tears in his eyes, just as there are in mine.

This bread sticks in my throat, just as conviction sticks in my heart.  I must leave.  I have to get away from Jesus’ severe mercy.  I go out.  And it is night.

About jstevenharper

Retired seminary professor, who taught for 32 years in the disciplines of Spiritual Formation and Wesley Studies. Author and co-author of 31 books. Also a retired Elder in The Florida Annual Conference of The United Methodist Church
This entry was posted in Holy Week 2013. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Holy Week 2013: Handed the Bread

  1. John Hinklin says:

    The thought of the night away from HIM leaves me bewildered

  2. Jane Holzkamp says:

    Beauifully stated.

Comments are closed.