The Holy Gospel: April 21, 2013 (Year C)

Read:  John 10:22-30

Meditation:  “In Plain View”

I hate to admit it, but sometimes I fail to see things that are right in front of me.  It can be my car keys or a pen I was writing with only a few seconds ago.  Or…it can be something more important…like something Jeannie is trying to tell me that I really need to hear.

The Jews were missing Jesus, not because he was silent, but because they were only able to “hear” him if he first conformed to their stereotypes of what a “real” Messiah would be.

Jesus responded tersely, “I have told you.”  But his message came through his works–actions that proved the Father had sent him.

Most of the time, the things I am looking for are in plain view.  The same holds true for faith.  Instead of asking God to “tell me plainly” about things, I need only to look around at the things already going on all around me. 

St. Francis put it this way:  “God is doing cartwheels in creation.”  God is telling us plainly.  We don’t need another revelation; we only need to pay attention to the ones we already have.

About jstevenharper

Retired seminary professor, who taught for 32 years in the disciplines of Spiritual Formation and Wesley Studies. Author and co-author of 31 books. Also a retired Elder in The Florida Annual Conference of The United Methodist Church
This entry was posted in The Holy Gospel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Holy Gospel: April 21, 2013 (Year C)

  1. Ellen Steinberg says:

    So very true- a stark reminder of his presence.
    Thanks Dr. Harper
    Ellen

Comments are closed.