In -Sight: Closer to the Trees

Again today, like most days, I watch the day begin with wonder.  The cool air, brightening sky, and singing birds combine to invite me to come alive along with them.

The moment also includes the noise of traffic on the expressway nearby.  People going fast toward somewhere.  The sounds of their automobile, truck, and motorcycle engines tell me that many are going faster than they are supposed to.  But they are in a hurry, and that somehow justifies breaking the speed limit.  And the occasional horn blast also tells me they do not want anyone getting in their way.

And then…my attention returns to the large trees near my house.  They are not moving.  In fact, they are exactly where they have always been–stable, strong, and silent.

Looking at them, I realize once more that my “being” is closer to the trees than the traffic, more nearly like the silence than the noise, more akin to the sunrise than the speed. 

Lord, help me live in the world I am made for and take my cues from it.

About jstevenharper

Retired seminary professor, who taught for 32 years in the disciplines of Spiritual Formation and Wesley Studies. Author and co-author of 31 books.
This entry was posted in In-Sight. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In -Sight: Closer to the Trees

  1. Marcia says:

    Thank you for this reminder that we are to be present rather than rushed. . . and to be grounded rather than to be transient. Stability in a constantly changing culture does not mean we don’t transform nor does it mean we become irrelavent, but rather our transformation is keeps the core of our being –our God image–relevant and available to those who so greatly need stability and consistancy and a place called “home” and a place to belong–celebrating the strength of being “rooted” in love.

  2. Michael D. says:

    It takes effort to find peace in our fast-paced world; but it can be done. When you find peace, thank God for that wonderful gift.

Comments are closed.