And Your Daughters: The Rest of the Church

The coming of the Spirit at Pentecost engaged both men and women in the ministry of the church.  The Spirit was poured out on “all flesh.”—-“and your daughters shall prophesy.”

With this post, I am adding another Category to capture occasional posts to support the voices and ministries of women in the church–ancient and modern. I will use the opening posts to recommend resources you can use to root yourself in “the rest of the church.”

Here are two excellent books to help you further appreciate our sisters…

Ruth Tucker, Daughters of the Church–a study of the ministry of women from the beginning of Christianity until now.

Paul Chilcote, She Offered Them Christ–a study of the ministry of women in early Methodism.

More to come!

About jstevenharper

Retired seminary professor, who taught for 32 years in the disciplines of Spiritual Formation and Wesley Studies. Author and co-author of 31 books. Also a retired Elder in The Florida Annual Conference of The United Methodist Church
This entry was posted in Connections. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And Your Daughters: The Rest of the Church

  1. ellenmae77 says:

    Am glad to see this post-so many women have been judged and found wanting just because they are women. I am so glad God works and ministers through many women.
    Blessings
    Ellen

  2. Marcia says:

    Thank you for acknowledging the ministry of women. Even today women are cast off to the side, and their ministries are discounted even when fruits are obvious. I have journeyed through the ministry for over 20 years as well as cared for my family–making lots of sacrifices. I am grateful to those who welcomed The Word Of God proclaimed through the voice of a woman, and I am thankful for the compassion and empathy shared at bedsides and funerals, as well as the gift of creativity which was splattered in sermons, on atlars and throughout worship. Presently I serve in a different capacity, thankful that I can care for family and self as I serve God — ministry is still creative, but no longer a “business” –it is becoming more of an adventure. So grateful for the God who made me, calls me, cares and leads me. Thanks again for your affirmation of the voice of women.

Comments are closed.