In-Sight: Where Is James When You Need Him?

Blogging has become a very personal exercise for me.  I find that often, I have to write about something that is more of a lack in me than a possession.  Today, is one of those times.

We would be in a much better place spiritually if we lived in tune with James’ message: “Be quick to listen, slow to speak, and even slower to become indignant” (1:19, my translation).

Apart from our fallen-world tendency to be judgmental (or at least strongly opinionated), our instant-gratification society makes us reactionaries.  I don’t have time to put James’ two guidelines (good listening and less speaking) into practice, so I “tell you what I think” before I really understand what you think….before I really know what I think.  We all lose.

Wisdom only emerges from us when we give it space and time to emerge. Perspective comes when we hang around people and things long enough to see them from more than “our angle”–while hoping others cut us the same slack.

Most especially, this is the way God treats us, so why would we even want to do less in our relations with others? But alas, we do.

Lord, have mercy, Christ, have mercy!  Where is James when you need him?

About jstevenharper

Retired seminary professor, who taught for 32 years in the disciplines of Spiritual Formation and Wesley Studies. Author and co-author of 31 books. Also a retired Elder in The Florida Annual Conference of The United Methodist Church
This entry was posted in Gleanings. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In-Sight: Where Is James When You Need Him?

  1. Steve Williams says:

    Brother Steve, It would be wonderful if people just tried to live by and understand what James says. I don’t know what issue you may be referring to but I have been hit in the face a few times before I have even finished saying what I have to say. We are losing a lot in our society, especially consideration of others. God bless

Comments are closed.