First Day: A New Series

With the coming of October, I want to tell you about a new series which begins on October 9th. Each Wednesday, I will post a writing related to Pope Francis’ first encyclical letter: “Lumen Fidei.”  I have been reading it for a couple of months, and I believe the Pope has set the stage for a significant ecumenical moment, as well as the opportunity to reflect on what is arguably the primal concept in the Bible.  I hope you will join me in this series of reflections.  You can easily get a copy of the Pope’s letter, and having it will enrich your experience.  But I will not be commenting sequentially on his text, but only providing meditations on the theme which Pope Francis has chosen to begin his papacy.

And as always, the weekly commentary (posted each Saturday) on the Sunday Gospel Lesson continues.  We will soon complete the three-year cycle.

I pray that Oboedire continues to bless you.  Thanks for continuing the journey.  And thanks for telling others about it.

Blessings!  Steve

About jstevenharper

Retired seminary professor, who taught for 32 years in the disciplines of Spiritual Formation and Wesley Studies. Author and co-author of 31 books. Also a retired Elder in The Florida Annual Conference of The United Methodist Church
This entry was posted in First Day. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First Day: A New Series

  1. Hello Steve- I am feeling so blessed during my first year at Asbury. God used you as a virtual encourager to knock on the door at Asbury and that will always be a special connection. I look forward to this series. Bless you for sharing this theme with us!

  2. Keith says:

    Well, I look forward to that!

Comments are closed.