Recommendation: The Dave Test

I have just received a copy of a book, written by my friend Fred Schmidt.  It is so powerful that I want all my readers to know about it, so I am posting this note on all my social media.  It is called ‘The Dave Test’ (Abingdon Press). Sub-titled, “A Raw Look at Real Faith in Hard Times,” it is Fred’s account of he and his brother David’s walk toward death due to David’s brain tumor–a seven-year experience that turned them both inside-out.    It is a blatantly honest, heart-rending, no-holds-barred look at life battered by disease and facing death.  It is a book that speaks to us in any kind of loss, not just sickness.  As one reviewer wrote,  it offers real help when life forces us to ask, “What do we do when life falls apart for us or those we love?”  Read ‘The Dave Test’ for yourself.  Read it with family members and friends.  Read it in your small group.  You will be glad you did.

About jstevenharper

Retired seminary professor, who taught for 32 years in the disciplines of Spiritual Formation and Wesley Studies. Author and co-author of 31 books.
This entry was posted in Editorials. Bookmark the permalink.