First Day: Onto the New Path

Hello, Everyone!

For now, at least, I am going to continue the monthly “First Day” gathering post.  It gives me an opportunity to communicate things related to the blogsite itself.

As you already know, the “new path” for Oboedire is under way.  Thanks to those of you who have supported my decision to move away from a deadline-driven approach.  I felt an immediate sense of relief when I decided to do this.

At the same time, I want the Oboedire ministry to continue to provided substantive and beneficial writing about attentive spiritual formation.  So, for organization purposes, I will use previous theme names to categorize future writings.  “In-Sight” returns as the general post.  “Ministry Musings” will pick up what has been showing up on the NewPastors blog.  “Let Us Pray” will now carry what Prayer Alive used to handle.

“The Holy Gospel” is the sole survivor of the changes.  I enjoy reading and reflecting on the Gospel lessons from the New Revised Common Lectionary, so continue to look for it each Saturday.  Cycle “C” comes to an end soon, so join me in praying whether or not to continue the posts, but with (perhaps) the Old Testament three-year cycle.  We’ll see.

Other than that, I think the decision to move away from regularized and deadline-driven writing is already helping me live more in the “pace of grace,” which is even more important for me to do in retirement.  So, thanks for continuing on the new journey as it unfolds.

As you know, blogs grow by word-of-mouth.  So, if what you find here at Oboedire is helping you in your spiritual formation, please tell others about it.

Blessings!   Steve

About jstevenharper

Retired seminary professor, who taught for 32 years in the disciplines of Spiritual Formation and Wesley Studies. Author and co-author of 31 books. Also a retired Elder in The Florida Annual Conference of The United Methodist Church
This entry was posted in First Day. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to First Day: Onto the New Path

  1. Cindy Schutz says:

    i too am thankful for the posts…they are thought provoking, encouraging and challenging. I trust your spiritual insight, it’s amazing how some of the posts speak directly to where I am on the journey. I also appreciate learning about other writers, books, sites, etc. , it’s part of my ‘continuing education’. Thank you again.

  2. Hello Steve+,
    All of your posts have been a blessing to me.

Comments are closed.