Let Us Pray: Simple Prayer

St. Therese of Lisieux gave us a great gift in the following words about prayer….

“It’s a mistake to imagine that your prayer won’t be answered unless you’ve prayed something out of a book, some splendid formula of words, specially devised to meet this emergency. If that were true, I’m afraid I should be in a terribly bad position. You see, I recite the Divine Office, with a great sense of unworthiness, but apart from that I can’t face the strain of hunting about in books for these splendid prayers.  It makes my head spin. There are such a lot of them, each more splendid than the last; how am I to recite them all, or to choose between them? I just do what children have to do before they’ve learned to read; I tell God what I want quite simply, without any splendid turns of phrase, and somehow he always manages to understand me.”

About jstevenharper

Retired seminary professor, who taught for 32 years in the disciplines of Spiritual Formation and Wesley Studies. Author and co-author of 31 books.
This entry was posted in Let Us Pray. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let Us Pray: Simple Prayer

  1. Amen that’s great. Thanks Steve

Comments are closed.