First Day: Living In Sync

As I told you in the December “First Day” post, I have been discerning the place of Oboedire in relation to my status as a retired person.

This comes from my belief that we are called to live in our age/stage of life.  Our tendency is either to “run ahead” and rush the formative process, or to “run backward” and truncate it. Instead, the spiritual life must be  lived “here and now.”  God makes every phase of life holy. We do not have to go forward or backward to find abundant living.

From this kind of meditation, I have concluded that the main contributions I can make through Oboedire are perspective and encouragement.  Perspective is what Joan Chittister calls “the gift of years.”  Encouragement is essentially saying to fellow travelers, “Hang in there. You are on the right path.”

So, I am aiming to use the two lenses of perspective and encouragement in the writing of Oboedire posts. I will do this largely within the context of classical Christian formation. There are excellent sources for contemporary perspectives. I want to keep the influence of classical spirituality in the mix.

As 2014 begins, the “containers” (actual posts) for this will be “Lumen Fide” on Mondays and “Ancient Wisdom” on Saturdays.  The “In-Sight” posts will continue also, but not on a particular day.  Other miscellaneous topics will appear occasionally.

You may know folks who would enjoy a formative process that aims to provide perspective and encouragement.  Please invite them to join the Oboedire journey.  And thank you for continuing on the path with me.

Blessings!  Steve

About jstevenharper

Retired seminary professor, who taught for 32 years in the disciplines of Spiritual Formation and Wesley Studies. Author and co-author of 31 books. Also a retired Elder in The Florida Annual Conference of The United Methodist Church
This entry was posted in First Day. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First Day: Living In Sync

  1. Dr. Wylie E. "Buff"Hearn says:

    Hi, Steve! Susan Cosby sent me a forward of your blog. I have been reflecting and meditating on the role and relationship I have with ministry as a retired pastor. As I have been open to God’s revelation, I have been lead to the exact same place over the past year – to live in the now! As you said we have three choices each day to center our journey – past, present, future. My common reflection on the past tends to be critical, regretting all the mistakes and miss-steps I made in my life and in ministry. As far as the future is concerned, I often select the “fear” button, rather than falling into God’s arms in faith as I step into the next moment. So, Master Jesus and I have been working very hard to “live in each moment” as you encouraged us to do. I have realized in my own journey how difficult that simple attitude adjustment is, and how little time each day I spend living hand in hand with my Lord. Thank you for your reflection and insight! Buff

Comments are closed.