In-Sight: Waves of Grace

Decades ago, William Barclay provided an image of the phrase “grace upon grace” (John 1:16) that has stuck with me ever since.  He said that the idea was comparable to the waves which splash incessantly upon the beach, so he translated the phrase to read, “wave after wave of grace.”

Having lived in Florida since 1998, that image has become an experience.  Standing on the shoreline, wave after wave splashes onto my feet.  I could stand there for a year, and it would be the same.  I could come at night or at noon, and it would be the same–never ending waves.

Never ending grace–no matter what day, or time of day.  No matter if there is bright sunshine or thick clouds.  Wave after wave of grace!  Amazing grace.

And in that moment of blessed receptivity, I hear Jesus say, “Freely you have received, freely give” (Matthew 10:8). In that moment I realize that as I face the ocean of God, I receive grace, but when I turn around and face the shore, I become a channel of grace to others.

God’s intention does not change. It is always “wave after wave of grace.”

About jstevenharper

Retired seminary professor, who taught for 32 years in the disciplines of Spiritual Formation and Wesley Studies. Author and co-author of 31 books. Also a retired Elder in The Florida Annual Conference of The United Methodist Church
This entry was posted in In-Sight. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In-Sight: Waves of Grace

  1. Amy Gill says:

    Thank you! What an amazing picture that is!

Comments are closed.