The Prophetic Task: Introduction

I have made the decision to re-activate Oboedire in order to present a new series of blogs and archive them all in one place–something not possible on Facebook.  The theme is entitled, “The Prophetic Task,”‘and in it I intend to explore God’s call to resist and confront “the principalities and powers” which are at work today to establish “the kingdoms of this world” in place of the Kingdom of God.  I will compose these posts with the writings of Walter Brueggemann as my reference point.

Brueggemann is deeply influencing me these days.  His extensive study of the prophetic task is connecting dots in my theology, adding depth to my faith, and shaping my spiritual formation–particularly with respect to social holiness.

In addition to these personal benefits, Brueggemann is giving me renewed “eyes to see and ears to hear” the deformative attitudes and actions of ’empire’ (his one-word summary for the fallen-world system) and a fresh vocabulary for identifying ’empire’ and overcoming it–all in the larger context of God’s purposes: to restore and renew what has been lost.

I invite you to join me on the journey these posts will provide.  If you already subscribe to Oboedire, future posts will come to you automatically.  If you are not a subscriber, you can do so quickly and easily by going to the righthand sidebar and entering your email address into the subscription box.

Perhaps you know others who would like to be on this journey.  Invite them to subscribe as well.  May God help us all better to see and to embrace the prophetic task, with the intent described by the hymnwriter, “grant us wisdom, grant us courage, for the living of these days….til we reach Thy Kingdom’s goal.” (Hymn: “God of Grace & God of Glory”)

About jstevenharper

Retired seminary professor, who taught for 32 years in the disciplines of Spiritual Formation and Wesley Studies. Author and co-author of 31 books. Also a retired Elder in The Florida Annual Conference of The United Methodist Church
This entry was posted in The Prophetic Task. Bookmark the permalink.