Benedict’s Rule: Moving On To The Next Step

We have completed our exploration of the text of the Rule of Benedict.  As I have done this along with you, I have benefitted from the wisdom of this document over and over again.  I hope you have as well.

I have decided to use Esther de Waal’s Seeking God: The Way of St. Benedict in my Fall course on “The Spiritual Life of the Minister.”  Consequently, I am going to continue to make Friday posts that continue our exploration of the Rule, but this time from de Waal’s book, which takes a thematic approach, not a textual one.

I’ll not begin the posts until August 17th.  This includes the two-week “summer break” I’ll be taking from posting at all, but it will also give you time to order de Waal’s book to have at hand as we begin to move through it together.

The Rule of Benedict is foundational for any spiritual formation.  When you see what a blessing de Waal’s book is, you’ll not be surprised at my decision to keep looking at the Rule, but doing so through her eyes of wisdom.

About Steve Harper

Dr. Steve Harper is retired seminary professor, who taught for 32 years in the disciplines of Spiritual Formation and Wesley Studies. Author and co-author of 51 books.. He is also a retired Elder in The Florida Annual Conference of The United Methodist Church.
This entry was posted in Benedict's Rule. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Benedict’s Rule: Moving On To The Next Step

  1. I have also found Joan Chittester’s Rule of Benedict to be a good daily devotional (especially for those of us in pastoral ministry)

Comments are closed.